Seriously, this may be all over the place so you can stop reading now.  Too many things floating around in my head right now.

Just who the hell do you think you are?  That’s a question I’ve been asked multiple times throughout my life.  It’s a question I’ve asked myself too many times to count. It’s also a question I’ve been trying to answer for the past few years.  I think I finally have an answer.  That is, after all, what this blog was supposed to be about.  So let’s take this one small part at a time.  I am someone who loves MUSIC.  Sweet… glorious… music.

Music is such a huge part of my life and who I am.  I don’t know about anyone else but my earliest memories are filled with music.  I have parents who love music, and music seemed to always be on in my house.  I can’t clean my house, put on my makeup, do laundry, hell even type this without music.  I have my mom to thank for that.

I probably has the most diverse taste in music.  I love it all, and I’m not one of those people who say they like all types of music.  I mean I probably know some part of almost any song on any station in any genre of music.  Oldies? Yup.  Rock? Yup.  Classic rock?  Yup.  Country? Yup.  Rap? Yup.  R&B/Hip Hop.  Yup/yup.   50’s. 60’s, 70’s, 80’s?  Yes, yes, yes, and yes.  I love it all.

Some of my earliest memories are of my family and me driving from some part of the south we were currently living in back to Memphis.  When my sisters and I were younger we were subjected to whatever music my parents wanted to listen to. I’m so thankful for that now, though I hated it at the time.  I wanted to listen to New Kids on the Block, not Mo-town, The Eagles, and CCR.  I remember one time, my sisters got to stay home with dad, and I was with my mom and Aunt Martha.  We were listening to a Gladys Knight and the Pips cassette.  YEAHHH a cassette baby!  I knew every song.  I sat in the back, staring out the winder singing my little 9 year old heart out.  I also remember Aunt Martha telling me to give Gladys a change to sing, since she did it so well.  I can’t imagine my Aunt Martha saying that now.

See, I love to sing.  LOVE it. I sing all the time or as much as I can. I’m actually pretty good at it, depending on the genre.  It’s taken a very long time for me to be able to sing in front of people.  It started off with me singing in the car while my mom drove.  Even then it was always soft and probably way off key.  Then at some point, probably immediately after turning 16 and driving around as much as I could, even though dad specifically said “no joyrides” I started singing louder and gained a little confidence.  Who knew I could actually sing a little?  Now it’s hard to get me to shut up.

Not only do I like to sing, but I like to play music too.  At the age of 16 I asked my mom for, wait for it, a violin.  I had previously taken piano lessons.  I had picked out a song or two by ear and mom signed me up for classes.  I hated piano lessons.  Then I signed up for violin in the orchestra class in 6th grade.  I was ok….not great, but I really liked it.  So when I asked for a violin my mother, in her infinite wisdom, bought me a guitar.  Ha! I gladly took it even though I had no idea how to play.  Off to the awesome, kick ass, dial up AOL internet I went to teach myself to play the guitar.  I started out with the easy stuff.  You know, G, C, D.  Basically almost ever Eagles song out there.  Good thing I love The Eagles.  I remember my mom hearing me practice and asking me to come out on the patio and play for her.  So, for the first time intentionally, I played my guitar and sang, out loud, for someone other than myself.  I sang “Take it Easy” and “Peaceful Easy Feeling” for my mother.  She told me I was good.  That meant the world to me.  I still play my guitar every once in a while but the older I get the less I play.  I can pick out a tune, but I am by no means a real guitar player.  I know enough to impress someone who can’t play.  J  I wish I had been brave enough to actually do something with what little talent I was given.

As I sit here, mind swirling in ADD bliss, I keep thinking about how a friend recently told me I was the epitome of an Aquarius.  That took me a bit by surprise.  Sure, I’ll read my horoscope, see what the stars have in line for me, but I’ve never really taken them all that seriously.  Kinda.   So I looked it up… and that is the start of the twofer of todays blog posts.

